ECS Canadian Section

Canadian Section of The Electrochemical Society

Electrochemistry in Canada

ECS Canada News

2017 Fall Meeting at Queens

Our Fall 2017 Symposium will be held on Saturday Nov. 4, 2017 at Queen's University. 

Conference Program.

Stay tuned for more details.

Section Award Winners

The ECS Canadain Section is proud to announce the winners of the following awards

  1. 2017 Lash Miller Award: Prof. Yurij Mozharivskyj, McMaster University

The winners will each present an award lectures at the Fall 2017 section meeting.

Exective Committee

Section Officers

  1. Chair: Christa Brosseau (SMU)
  2. Vice-Chair – Membership: Thamara Laredo (Lakehead U)
  3. Vice-Chair – Programs: Brad Easton (UOIT)
  4. Secretary: Heather Andreas (Dal U)
  5. Immediate Past Chair: Michael Eikerling (SFU)


  1. Aicheng Chen (Lakehead U) 
  2. Sylvie Morin (York U)      


  1. Hogan Yu (SFU)
  2. Brian McLean (St.FX) 
  3. Steen Schougaard (UQAM) 
  4. Kristin Poduska (MUN) 
  5. Jeffrey Shepherd (Laurentian) 
  6. Zhifeng Ding (UWO)
  7. Li Yan, Nova Research and Technology Centre, Calgary 


Current Meeting 

Our next meeting is scheduled for Saturday Nov. 4, 2017 at Queen's University. The meeting is being organized by Prof. Jerkiewicz.

The Conference Program is now available.

Past Meetings

Fall 2016

The Canadian Section of the Electrochemical Society held its Fall Symposium at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) on November 12, 2016. The meeting was organized by Prof. Brad Easton and Dr. Mohammadreza Ghavidel. The symposium theme was “Interdisciplinary Electrochemistry” and attracted more than 75 attendees (including academic researchers, graduate students, and industry members). The symposium was comprised of morning and afternoon sessions, a poster session, followed by a wine and cheese reception. Prof. Janine Mauzeroll (McGill University) delivered the keynote presentation, titled “Redox triggered vesicles: A promising approach for drug delivery”. Twelve other invited speakers presented lectures throughout the day. The poster session was followed by a wine and cheese reception where three student poster awards were presented to: Nakkiran Arulmozhi (First Place, Queens University), Matthew Genovese (Second Place, University of Toronto), Jeffrey Henderson (Third Place, Western University).  

The Conference program in PDF format can be downloaded here, the abstract Book: here.  

A selection of photos from the meeting can be viewed here.

Spring 2016

The Canadian Section of the Electrochemical Society held its Spring  Symposium at Saint Mary's University. The meeting was organized by Profs. Christa Brosseau and Heather Andreas (Dalhousie). The symposium was dedicated to the memory of the late Prof. Sharon Roscoe, a long-time member of the ECS and a preeminent Nova Scotian electrochemist. The meeting theme was "Electrochemistry at the Interface" and featured a keynote lecture from Dr. Mark Orazem (U. Florida). 

About Us

Electrochemistry in Canada

We are a network of electrochemical researchers in Canada. This group operates as a section within the main Electrochemical Society organization.   We hold semi-annual symposiums and also support electrochemical researchers and students throughout Canada.